Electric vehicle charging points coming to two town centre car parks


Scheme allows you to park for free overnight and charge up using a fast charging point

Electric vehicle (EV) charging points are coming to two car parks in the centre of Banbury.   Windsor Street and Calthorpe Street West car parks in Banbury are amongst 19 locations around the county where charging points will be installed.

The first park and charge EV hub at Bicester’s Cattle Market car park was completed in May.   A further 19 sites have now been announced with work due to be completed by March next year.

The park and charge scheme allows people without off-street parking to park for free overnight and charge up using a ‘fast’ 7 – 22kw EV charging point. The chargers will also provide much needed battery top-ups to commuters and visitors during the daytime.

The project is being delivered by a consortium of partners including Oxfordshire County Council, University of Oxford, Urban Integrated UK, and Bicester firm Zeta Lighting which is running the EV charging service under the trading name EZ-Charge.  Cherwell and the other District Councils are also supporting the scheme and hosting the EV charging hubs.

Councillor Dan Sames, Cherwell District Council’s Lead Member for Clean and Green, said: “The pioneering electric vehicle charging project has exceeded expectations and usage continues to grow. We are delighted to be able to expand the project and create more charging hubs within Cherwell. The added bonus is that we are using home grown technology developed by a Bicester-based company.”

It is predicted that by 2030, one in five cars on Oxfordshire’s roads will be an EV, according to data modelling by the University of Oxford.

The £5.4 million programme is among the first of its kind in the UK and is being funded by the Office for Zero Emissions Vehicles through Innovate UK and the government’s On-Street Residential Charging Scheme.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track